My Apologies…

…for being so invisible over the past few weeks. Brother’s wedding, a move to St. Louis, blah blah blah you get the picture. But I have more internet now than I could ever want.

I read a few books on my internet-free hiatus, and I’ll just note the gems:

Reading Lolita in Tehran

Make your jokes; I enjoyed it. She’s a good writer and recent upheavals in Iran caused me to buy some literature on the Middle East. If you want to understand what it is like to be a female academician in Iran, check it out.

Darwin and Design: Does Evolution Have a Purpose?

The history of final causes in the first half of the book is amazing. You kind of get the picture before he gives his own thoughts at the end which makes it a bit repetitious, but good nonetheless.

3 Responses

  1. Michael Ruse! Blah!

    You better read Stephen Meyer’s new book for an antidote.

  2. Hah! I see what you did.
    I keep tabs on these folks for purely scholarly reasons. I have overlapping professional research interests with many evolutionary biologists who come from a philosophical angle. Ruse does seem to be a bit of an atheist odd duck, though. He says favorable things about IDers (though he ultimately denies their claims) and has said a few critical things about the New Atheists. I think he even wrote this book with a Templeton grant.

  3. Well, OK, but I’ve got my eye on you!

    I agree Ruse is the least crazy. He even debated Bill Dembski for the Greer-Heard debate series.

Leave a Reply

