Six Essential Atheist Works

John Loftus over at DC asks what the bare minimal atheist library would look like. I’m not an atheist, but I have read widely on the topic. My top six:

* Dialogues Concerning Natural Religion by David Hume
* The Miracle of Theism by J.L. Mackie
* On the Nature of Things by Lucretius
* The Essence of Christianity by Ludwig Feuerbach
* Why I Am Not a Christian by Bertrand Russell
* Atheism: A Philosophical Justification by Michael Martin

I’m sure there have been better works, or better selling works, but I only listed ones that I’ve read and can reasonably recall.

Leave a Reply

